
LEHI JUSTICE COURT, UTAH COUNTY, UTAH 

NOTIFICATION OF ENHANCEMENT-NO INSURANCE, NO PROOF OF INSURANCE 

 
Defendant:______________________________________________, Case No._______________________ 

 

ELEMENTS 
 

No Insurance 41-12a-302: Any owner of a motor vehicle on which insurance is required who operates his 

or her vehicle or permits it to be operated on a highway in this state without insurance is guilty of a class B 

misdemeanor.  Any other person who operates a motor vehicle upon a highway in Utah with the knowledge 

that the owner does not have insurance in effect for the motor vehicle is guilty of a class B misdemeanor, 

unless that person has insurance on a Utah-registered motor vehicle or its equivalent that covers the 

operation, by the person, of the motor vehicle in question.    

 

Note:  41-12a-301(5):  Owner’s or operator’s security is not required for any of the following: (a) properly-

registered off-highway vehicles when operated on legally-designated roads or in a legally-designated 

manner; (b) off-highway implements of husbandry operated in a legally-designated manner; (c) electric-

assisted bicycles, motor-assisted scooters, and personal-motorized-mobility devices (as defined under 

Section 41-6a-102). 

 

No Proof of Insurance 41-12a-303.2(2)(a)(i):  A person operating a motor vehicle shall: (A) have in the 

person’s immediate possession evidence of owner’s or operator’s security for the motor vehicle the person 

is operating; and (B) display it upon demand of a peace officer.  41-12a-303.2(5): A violation of this 

section is a class B misdemeanor.   

 

Note: 41-12a-303.2(2)(a)(ii):  A person is exempt from the requirements of Subsection (2)(a)(i) if the 

person is operating: (A) a government-owned or leased motor vehicle; or (B) an employer-owned or leased 

motor vehicle and is driving it with the employer’s permission.  

 

Note: 41-12a-303.2(3):  It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this section that the person had 

owner’s or operator’s security in effect for the vehicle the person was operating at the time of the person’s 

citation or arrest.  

 

ENHANCEMENT/PENALTIES 
 

41-12a-302(1):  For a conviction of No Insurance or no Proof of Insurance, the fine shall be not less than: 

(a) $400 for a first offense; and (b) $1000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a 

previous conviction or bail forfeiture.   

 

41-12a-604:  For a conviction of No Insurance or No Proof of Insurance, the defendant’s operator’s license 

shall be suspended by the Department of Public Safety.   
 

Minimum/Maximum Sentence 

Class B Misdemeanor:   0 days to 6 months jail $0 to $1000 fines and surcharges 

 

I understand the foregoing Notification of Enhancement as explained here and as orally explained to me. 

 
______________________ _________________________________________________________ 

Date    Defendant 

     

 

 

 


